With the Turkish occupation of Chania (1645), many changes occurred. The Turks lived mainly in the eastern suburbs of Kasteli and Splantzia while the Christians resided in northwest part of the city. The Turks called the Christian quarters in the west "Tophane" which in Turkish means "arsenal", due to the Venetian ammunitions warehouse (which is still standing today) at the end Theotokopoulos Street. This neighborhood is still called Topanas.
During the period of the Turkish Occupation many buildings were renovated following Turkish architectural standards to suit the religious practices of the new residents. The Venetian fortress, built at the entrance to the port for protection, was turned into barracks. Today, it still bears the Turkish name of Firkas. In the late 19th Century the building functioned as a prison.

More About Rea Hotel

Rea Resort Hotel in
Chania, Crete, Greece


Stavros, Akrotiri, Chania
Tel:  +30 28210 39001-4
Fax: +30 28210 97504
E-mail: info@rearesorthotel.gr

explore chania with arrow